Sunday, October 15, 2017

nailed it


This closeup is an installation at Château Chaumont.  I imagine it will evolve as the nails begin to rust.

Friday, October 13, 2017

the search


One of dozens that I found hovering over the Loire.  I presume looking for lunch.

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

les Revues Historiques - part 7


This will be the parting shot for this series of photos.  Time to get back to today.

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Monday, October 9, 2017

les Revues Historiques - part 5


The event grounds were organized by theme and this scene was taken in the World War I section.

Sunday, October 8, 2017

les Revues Historiques - part 4


I got so many interesting subjects during this event that I'm finding it difficult to stop posting them.

Saturday, October 7, 2017

les Revues Historiques part 3 - don't stop the press


The World War II military vehicles looked like new.  For all of them, their attention to detail is amazing.

Friday, October 6, 2017

les Revues Historiques part 2


Despite their determination to maintain the mien of their characters, I think they were actually having a great time.

Thursday, October 5, 2017

les Revues Historiques


Although this was my first viewing, this event is held every other year in Amboise.  Much like the Civil War re-enactments in the States, these folks show off their authentic looking, if not actual, uniforms, civilian dress, military equipment, domestic arts and crafts, and memorabilia.  There is quite a range of historical epochs recreated including the Middle Ages, the Empire, and World Wars I and II.  Participants and attendees alike had a wonderful time over the weekend.  Trust me, you'll be seeing more of this.

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

the portal


Like a green gateway, these two trees along my recently discovered bike path seem to invite you to enter into a land of blue skies and white clouds.

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

last call


I'm sure by now these guys have been harvested and crushed and are now peacefully fermenting.  Maybe we'll meet again.

Sunday, October 1, 2017

CDP Theme Day - "sensual"


The first of every month is Theme Day for the worldwide bloggers of City Daily Photo and today's theme is "sensual".  To see how the others interpreted this theme click here.

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

fireworks on the water


Water jets underneath the water produce these bubbling fireworks-like effects on the surface of this pool.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Monday, September 25, 2017

using your imagination


I discovered this little wooden construction tucked away on the grounds of Château Chaumont.  It looks to be a very well imagined maintenance hut.  Were all "out buildings" so clever.

Sunday, September 24, 2017

l'église à Saint-Martin-le-Beau


The construction of this church in the nearby town of Saint-Martin-le-Beau began in the 12th century.  It was enlarged the the 16th.  This town is along one my favorite bike loops from Amboise.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

the vanishing point


Attention all art students.   Also any magicians who want to know how to make a train disappear.

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

just a-ROUND the corner


I can't recall seeing a rounded home quite like this.  It certainly helps the visibility at the intersection.  And I'd love to see how the space has been finished inside.

Monday, September 18, 2017

apple season


Although it seems you can get apples almost year-round nowadays, it is truly apple season in France.  Last week I found this beauty in an open field near la Domaine du Château de Chanteloup (home of the famous Pagoda).

Sunday, September 17, 2017

the find


On my last bike ride, I discovered a path I had never ridden before.  It not only kept me off the main road into a nearby town but also revealed an array of interesting finds including this one.

Saturday, September 16, 2017

stick 'em up


This photo was totally inspired by a shot made by my 9 year old grandson when he and his family visited here in July.  I think this tree is right out of the Hobbitt.

Thursday, September 14, 2017

the photo op


This portal (ce portail) has everything a photographer could ask for: textured stone, weathered wood, and crusty roof tiles.

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Ready and waiting


I took a bike ride through the vineyards surrounding Amboise yesterday.  I saw many fields that looked like they're ready for the vendange (grape harvest).  Some were being harvested while others have already been so.  Due to the weather situation throughout the growing season, it looks like most will be harvested earlier than usual this year.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017